If you want to register a vehicle or drive a car in Pennsylvania, you need to buy the minimum in bodily liability (BI) and property damage (PD) insurance. Under state law, this is called accepting “financial responsibility.” You don’t want your coverage to lapse as it can result in a license suspension for as long as three months.
To get around this rule, your insurance coverage can only lapse for a period up to 31 days. During which time you cannot operate the vehicle. Without insurance, you have to surrender your driver’s license and the registration sticker on your license plate to the state’s Department of Transportation (DOT). To restore your driving privileges, you must pay fees and show proof of insurance.
Moreover, if you drive without Philadelphia car insurance, and you’re stopped for a moving violation, you are subject to a $300 fine, a 3-month suspension on your registration and license, and vehicle impoundment.
Required Philadelphia Car Insurance Coverage
If you live and drive in Philadelphia, you’re required to get the following insurance:
- Medical benefits insurance pays for the medical expenses for yourself and others under your policy. It does not matter who is considered at fault. The minimum limit set for the coverage is $5,000.
- Bodily injury (BI) liability insurance covers the expenses of the other party in a car accident, paying for their medical and rehabilitation costs. The minimums set for the insurance are $15,000 for one person, or $30,000 per accident.
- Property damage (PD) liability insurance has you covered for damaging the other party’s car or a fence or exterior building, if you’re determined to be at fault. The minimum set for this insurance in Pennsylvania is $5,000.
Some insurance companies in Pennsylvania offer a single coverage limit of $35,000, meant to cover both the BI and PD minimum state requirements.
Limited Tort Insurance Plans and Full Tort Insurance Protection
In Pennsylvania, you can elect to choose limited tort coverage or full tort coverage. The limited tort policy allows you to receive money for medical expenses and other costs. However, you won’t receive compensation for some damages, such as pain and suffering.
If you have full tort coverage, you receive the unlimited right to sue a negligent party in a motor vehicle accident.
Optional Car Insurance
You can buy uninsured motorist (UM) insurance to cover you if an at-fault uninsured motorist hits you. Underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage applies when you’re hit by an at-fault driver who does not have adequate liability coverage.
A funeral benefit policy covers the cost of funeral expenses if you or a family member dies in a car crash. Collision insurance pays for damage to your vehicle during an accident. Usually, you’ll need to buy this insurance if you finance or buy a new car.
Comprehensive insurance covers your car if it is damaged from a natural disaster, including a fire or flood, or if you have an accident with an animal, such as a deer. Some motorists choose extraordinary medical benefits coverage, which pays for medical and rehabilitation costs exceeding $100,000. This plan offers a maximum coverage of $1 million.
Make Price Comparisons Every 6 Months to Ensure You Get the Best Deal
Your choices in options depend on the age of your car, what you can afford in insurance, and if you feel the state limits are not enough. By making comparisons of insurance plans every 6 months, you can save money and take advantage of possible discounts.